Post #1: Taking in the View

In 2005 I went to Fayetteville, WV, with some college friends. On a group hike while traversing a particularly rocky path, I paused and abruptly realized the entire landscape had changed around me, and I was near a particular breathtaking vista, all of which I took no note of due to my foot staring. It became one of those moments. One of those oh-my-God-this-is-a-metaphor-for-my-life moments. I was so busy hopping from rock to rock, job to class to friend to commitment after commitment, that I never looked up , never oriented, never was actually thoughtful about where I was or where I was going. By golly I was having fun, and still am…. but I think a forced pause now and then would be a good pause now and then.

I struggle with the narcissism of blogs, when we put ourselves out there a little it can seem like LISTEN TO ME I AM WORTHY OF YOUR TIME, but, I enjoy reading them. I love other’s experiences, the ones I relate to and the ones I don’t. So, I’m just going to embrace my own narcissism and throw out some of my experiences and thoughts. And probably photos of my dog. Lots of photos of my dog.

I plan on writing about Baltimore, hiking, cycling, yoga, Blue Apron fails,  being a protestant in a great catholic church (general faith schtuff), my Kuwait rescue mutt obsession, being a tall lady, Michigan native, living in a tiny rowhome and desperately trying to avoid being a smug married. I love ampersands, ellipses, & parentheses (… among other things).

Writing is a great creative outlet, but even more, it’s a great thoughtful, meditative practice. Hopefully when I look up from the keyboard, I recognize (mostly) what’s around me.

fayette1

Leave a Reply

